For the love of gimmicks.

Sometimes the simplest product can bring the greatest amount of joy. For instance, bubble wrap. There’s something unbelievably satisfying in finding a sheet and destroying it- I opt for the “Towel Wring” style, while most go for the “One-Pop” method. What can I say, I’m a sucker for a big bang.

Anyhow, I came across this Buddha Board in a paper store. It’s a flat sheet of rock and a paintbrush. When water is applied to the paintbrush, the rock can be painted on as a canvas, leaving you with a beautiful etching that will fade as fast as the properties of evaporation will allow.  It retails for $37.95 and hopefully gets you closer to the four noble truths (Although the procurement of such a tool probably violates 3/4 of those truths along the way).

Buddha Bored.

I am certain I’ve experienced this as a child, finding grey driveways to draw on with water, or stumbling upon those rocks that were like chalk when you drew on another rock with it….oh memories. Anyhow, I was fixated for a few minutes and did my doodles.

Some genius/warlock saw the opportunity to create a product that would appeal to people who claim allegience to any of the following:

  1. being young at heart
  2. being spiritually inclined 
  3. having money to burn 
  4. looking for a silly cool factor that will cause them to stop and engage with the product in store while their friends are patiently waiting for them to stop doodling.

I didn’t buy it because well, it’s a waste of money as my doodles have a safe home in the margins of my notebook. But I liked it.

This entry was posted in This Little Piggy went to Market. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

